[Intro] AWS Certified DevOps Engineer - Professional


Honorary Members Group
Honorary Members Group
The AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional exam is intended for individuals who perform a DevOps engineer role with two or more years of experience provisioning, operating, and managing AWS environments.

Abilities Validated by the Certification​

  • Implement and manage continuous delivery systems and methodologies on AWS
  • Implement and automate security controls, governance processes, and compliance validation
  • Define and deploy monitoring, metrics, and logging systems on AWS
  • Implement systems that are highly available, scalable, and self-healing on the AWS platform
  • Design, manage, and maintain tools to automate operational processes

Recommended Knowledge and Experience​

  • Experience developing code in at least one high-level programming language
  • Experience building highly automated infrastructures
  • Experience administering operating systems
  • Understanding of modern development and operations processes and methodologies

AWS certification overview

Terminology explanation:

  • AWS (Amazon Web Services): A cloud computing platform from Amazon, currently widely used, providing more than 175 services with full features such as compute, database, kernel intelligence. create, machine learning ...
  • AWS Certification: is a certification system that assesses expertise and practical skills on Amazon cloud computing systems.

The value you get from owning an AWS certificate

AWS certification assesses the level of understanding of the cloud (cloud computing), specifically Amazon Web Services (AWS) services as well as the effective application of those services in practice; and provides the foundation needed to work with AWS services and solutions.

It can be said that owning an AWS certificate is a strong proof that you have been endorsed by one of the most prestigious organizations in the field of cloud computing. With an AWS certification in hand, you will advance your skills, prove your skills, and open up career opportunities in an increasingly competitive Cloud market .

Statistics show that 52% of IT (Information Technology) professionals, after obtaining AWS certification, their reports are immediately searched widely within the organization. Furthermore, 45% of professionals have effectively performed their roles and 43% have improved their job performance significantly (report from Global Knowledge IT Skills and Salary Report 2019).

AWS certification system

The AWS certification suite is divided into Cloud Practitioner, Architect, Developer, Operations and Specialty roles; with 3 levels of Foundational (Basic), Asociate (Members) and Professional (Professional).

Foundational: Needs at least 6 months of any position experience with basic knowledge of AWS Cloud.

Associate (Associate): Approximately 1 year of experience in problem solving and solution deployment using AWS Cloud is required.

Professional: At least 2 years of comprehensive experience required in the design, operation, and troubleshooting solutions using AWS Cloud.

Specialty: Has technical experience working with AWS Cloud in a specific area of expertise.

Details are in the picture below:


Introducing AWS Certified DevOps Enigneer - Professional


AWS Certified DevOps Engineer - Professional is for individuals with more than two years of experience working as an automation engineer (DevOps) of applications on the AWS platform; is responsible for providing, operating, and managing the AWS environment. To get this certificate, you need an AWS Certified Developer - Associate or an AWS Certified SysOps Administrator - Associate certificate.

This certificate demonstrates the ability to:

  • Deploy and manage continuous delivery systems and methods on AWS
  • Deploy and automate security controls, governance processes, and compliance validation
  • Define and implement a monitoring, metric, and logging system on AWS
  • Deploy highly available, scalable, and self-resilient systems on the AWS platform
  • Design, manage, and maintain tools to automate operational processes

Information on the AWS website

Outline exam:

  • 22% SDLC automation
  • Managing configuration and infrastructure as code 19%
  • Monitoring and Logging 15%
  • 10% Automation Policy and Standards
  • Incident and event response 18%
  • High availability, error detection, and disaster recovery 16%
See details .